Pumpkin Pasta

I still have a large can of pumpkin in my fridge and I really wanted to use it up. BUT I didn’t want to end up doing yet another loaf of bread, muffins, or oatmeal so I posted on the What’s Cooking board of TheNest.com and asked if any cooking bloggers had ideas of what I could make. Thank goodness for Cara’s Cravings and her amazingly creamy pumpkin penne!

I didn’t have every single ingredient but I figured that I could finagle and change a few things because, hey, it wasn’t baking!

Amazingly Creamy Pumpkin Penne
Loosely based on the recipe from Cara’s Cravings

  • 4 oz rotini pasta
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 small onion, thinly sliced
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1/2 lb chicken, diced
  • 1/4 cup non-fat, plain Greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/4 cup nonfat milk
  • Pinch of nutmeg
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Heat olive oil in a skillet over medium-low heat. Add onions and cook gently for about 10-15 minutes, until softened and beginning to caramelize. Add garlic and chicken, continue to sauté.
  2. Meanwhile, cook the pasta according to package directions. Mix together pumpkin, yogurt and milk in a small bowl until smooth. Add to chicken mixture in skillet and continue to cook over low heat. Season to taste with salt and pepper and a pinch of nutmeg.
  3. Drain pasta and top with the chicken mixture.

The original recipe was made for two servings; I made mine for one. And it was hardly as creamy as I would have liked. Maybe next time I’ll up the pumpkin and greek yogurt. The original recipe also calls to put the pumpkin, yogurt (well, cottage cheese in the original recipe) and milk in the blender to mix it better.

I had my pasta with a side of carrots and a whole wheat English muffin topped with Earth Balance butter and garlic powder.

This dish wasn’t bad, by any means, but it really didn’t have much taste to it. Next time I’m going to try the original recipe and have the spinach, sage and chicken SAUSAGE to add. But it was a fun dish to experiment with and really, anything with onions and garlic is a-ok with me. Thank goodness David loves onions and garlic too. ;-)

This week, and next, will be extremely slow at the hotel, so I don’t have many hours available at the desk. Thankfully, my mom’s office is more than willing to let me help out by having me come in for a few days to do filing, answer phones or other admin work.
And my mom was nice enough to make me lunch. Thank goodness too because all I had was a single leftover piece of pizza from the Horseshoe Grille and some triscuits and an apple. She made me a spinach wrap with turkey, cheese, spinach and hummus. It totally hit the spot for the afternoon. Thanks Mom! :-)

And for a snack, a delicious clementine.

I also received a Christmas present from my Aunt Denise: flavored olive oils! I can’t wait to use them!

What is your favorite comfort food? For me it’s always been pasta. I grew up with Prince pasta nights on Wednesday! Aaaaaaanthony!!!! :-)

4 Responses to “Pumpkin Pasta”

  1. Michelle Says:

    As I’m currently carb-free, this post definitely has me drooling. And I agree that pasta is my go-to comfort food!

  2. whatkateiscooking Says:

    This looks great! I like pumpkin in savory dishes almost as much as I like it in sweet ones :) Once, I made spaghetti squash and made a sauce out of goat cheese and pumpkin. It was incredible!

  3. Sana Says:

    Mac & Cheese is my ultimate comfort food. I really like the kind that Panera serves :)

  4. Maria Says:

    the pumpkin pasta looks yummy.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

