Social Networking

Hello all! Hope you had a great week! Today is Friday and it’s actually my Friday! Usually my Friday is Saturday but I have this weekend off. Yeah! :-)

Tomorrow David has drill and I’m still up in the air on what to do. Hmm..Any Boston area bloggers want to get together?

This morning I actually got my butt out of bed and I exercised! This morning I did the Chest & Back DVD of P90X. I focused mainly on the chest and did a few back exercises. I also didn’t do the Ab Ripper X. I have to admit, that’s my least favorite part of the DVD series. It’s only 16 minutes long, but man, they hurt! I’m sure as time goes on, it will get better. I still can’t do a real push up. I still do them on my knees. That will be a great goal for me this year! Be able to do at least 5 REAL push-ups. :-)

After my workout, I had my favorite bowl of oatmeal with a cup of coffee. I had so many bags of coffee in the kitchen and one big Folgers cannister so I just mixed them all. It’s a mix of Folgers medium blend, Starbucks cinnamon (which I’m so glad I mixed because that stuff is strong!), and Eight O’Clock coffee. I put a little of the organic vanilla syrup, Sugar in the Raw and a splash of half-n-half. In the oatmeal, there’s honey, banana, granola, raisins and a spoonful of Teddie peanut butter.

After cleaning up the apartment and running to the grocery store, I had some of my delicious cornbread. Seriously, I didn’t think this would be as good because it wasn’t sweet, but it’s a great little snack.

Right now I’m waiting for David to come home so that he can make his world famous burgers for lunch! His are always loaded with cheese, bacon and BBQ sauce, but I like to make up my own toppings – lettuce, onion, ketchup, pickles….and some bacon…and cheese ;-)

I’ve been following blogs since spring of last year and became more involved with my blog in August and I noticed that lot of them have a few things in common: Twitter, Foodbuzz publisher, giveaways and OpenSky to name a few.

I’ve since joined Twitter (never thought I would!) but I’ve found out that it’s more than just constant “status updates”; you can find out about giveaways and deals going on at your favorite retailers and, if you have enough followers, get ideas on what to do in your city or a city your traveling too. I have a few follows (yeah!) but I never really know what to write. Follow me @jogconcierge! What do you tweet about?

Which brings me to the giveaways and OpenSky aspect. I know that I’ve only had my blog for a few months but I would love to be able to offer these things. Do you generally have to seek people out for that? Or do companies stumble upon your blog and if they see what products you love as well as how much traffic you get, they will contact you?

I have signed up to be a FoodBuzz blogger but I’m currently on the waitlist. I hope that works out!

So, why ask these questions? I really want to take my blog and make it a big part of my life. I never thought it would be so much fun to write about what I do and what I cook/bake and the fact that I get comments and followers is awesome!

I guess my question really is: What did you do to get your blog where it is today? I know that these things don’t happen overnight, but I would love to be able to get in the right direction! And thank you for those that do read and comment! I love “meeting” other bloggers and to read their stories and blogs too.

Oh, I’m also on Facebook! The Jogging Concierge. :-)

5 Responses to “Social Networking”

  1. Michelle Says:

    Yay! So happy your joined Twitter! I’ve been blogging for several years but it really took off in 2010 when I focused a lot more on it. I use sources like Citysearch, Urbanspoon, Foodbuzz to help increase readership. And slowly companies (usually PR/marketing groups) would contact me based on content, readership, etc. Twitter definitely helps in that regard as I only joined in late 2009 and it made a huge difference in exposure. Hope this helps and I’m always happy to talk more if you want!

    • Alaina Says:

      I love that you follow and comment! :-) I love readiing your blog as well.

      Thanks for all the great tips! And may just have to take you up on the offer to pick your brain.

  2. Brittney Says:

    I added you on Twitter! See you on there!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

