A Saucey Army

Ok, where did I leave off?

Oh yes, waiting for David to come home so that we could have burgers for lunch!

David takes such pride in his burgers. He gets lean ground beef, Vidalia onions, bacon, extra sharp cheddar cheese, and Sweet Baby Rays BBQ sauce…for his burger. Mine is usually a smaller patty, onion, ketchup, lettuce and cheese. Every so often I will have a slice of bacon. Oh, and it’s not a slice of cheese; he melts it. After seeing a Travel Channel show where they were featuring Ted’s in Meriden, CT, David has been melting cubes of cheese in a small bowl and smears it on the patty. It’s delicious.

Side note: We even had a BBQ the day before our wedding (instead of a rehearsal dinner) and David manned the grill for the majority of the afternoon.

Explaining how he makes the burgers to our celebrant, Rob.

Now, back to Friday afternoon!

Trader Joe’s British muffin, with a 1/4 lb patty, ketchup, melted cheese, lettuce, onion and a slice of bacon. I had it with a side of Triscuits and water.

After lunch I headed to work and the hotel was soooooo slow. I ended up leaving at 9:30 (shift gets over at 10:30). Saturday morning/afternoon, David had army drill so I went to my parents house to do some much needed laundry and, just to meet with my parents. :-)

Before I left the apartment, I had an old oat favorite with an apple, honey, cinnamon, Teddie peanut butter and granola.

And on my way, I picked up a pick-me-up! French vanilla with skim milk and one Splenda (DD has yet to stock Sugar in the Raw.)

When I got to my parents, we spent a few minutes catching up and then we were off to Planet Fitness for a good treadmill run! It’s been years since I went on the treadmill, but I can honestly say…I prefer running outside. I felt like I was killing myself at a 9:15 pace. But it could also have been that I haven’t really run since the 5k on December 5th. Who knows? But it was a nice almost 4 mile run with my mom next to me and Father of the Bride Part II in my ear buds.

When we got back to their place, I showered and had an open faced sandwich for lunch.

It was topped with hummus, spinach, one slice of cheese and two slices of turkey meat. A side of scoops completed the lunch. For a sweet treat, my mom and I split a Think Thin brownie bar. Not too bad, but not my favorite. I still prefer Lara Bars.

When I got home, David and I went to Ristorante Saraceno in the North End for dinner. I’m going to put that review in another post. :-)

Today was a cleaning and cooking day. David and I are in the process of moving out of our apartment and my goal is to get our loose papers and things in order so that the move is easier. I actually like the packing aspect of moving because it allows me to pare down where I need to and have only the necessities. I’ve even been doing that with my toiletries. Every year that I run the CVS Downtown 5k, I get a free goodie bag of products and I’ve been going through them all before I go and buy something new (like lotion, body wash, etc). They usually end up in a basket in the closet, and then I go and buy something new. So I guess another goal is to use everything up before I buy something new!

Do you like packing at all?

In the morning, I had an energetic breakfast: British muffin, Teddie peanut butter, banana, Morning Star “sausage” and coffee.

Throughout the day, David made a huge Crock Pot tomato sauce that included ground beef, sausage, onions, garlic, parsley and oregano. With his job, he likes to have food to grab and go so he made enough to fridge and freeze for the next week.

Not all of those jars went into the pot, but they were having a sale!

(L) Leftovers of my lunch: quinoa with black beans, – I then had it topped with melted cheese with a side of pita chips, tatziki, carrots and cucumber
(R) David’s leftovers

And I enjoyed a little refreshment with our pasta dinner.

Tomorrow is another day off for me (got to love those slow days at the hotel)! The plan: shoulders and arms from P90X, Target run and some more cleaning around the apartment.

Hope you all had a great weekend!

One Response to “A Saucey Army”


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

