Testing the Product

Hello again!

I’ve emerged from the snow and I am finally back at my apartment.

My day started…yesterday morning. I decided to finally try out my cold weather running gear that I got for Christmas and headed out on a 2 1/2 mile run. Nothing long because it was cooold. My top layers were an Under Armour compression shirt, Nike Thermo-Fit half zip fleece top (with a hood and thumb holes!) and a North Face windbreaker. I had ear muffs and new gloves on as well. For the bottoms, I had my compression shorts, long-john pants from Patagonia and Fila wind pants. My brother in law and his fiancée got me some new socks (along with the gloves) so I tried those out as well. I was toasty! I even had to take off my gloves about half way through.

I ran the 2.5 miles in just over 24 minutes. I’m slowly getting back to it. At the end of this month, I’ll be starting my training for the 5k in March (hoping to PR!) and after that, half marathon training! I found out that a bunch of Boston bloggers that I follow will be running the Run to Remember half marathon too! I certainly hope to meet Tina and Ali.

After my run I had my breakfast: oatmeal and coffee.

For this batch, I added something different: figs! :-P In the mix was honey, raisins, figs, granola and Teddie peanut butter.

I had to go into work early for a meeting so I had some of the leftover mac ‘n cheese with broccoli and tamale from Target.

Well, the 1pm meeting turned into a 30 hour marathon at the Fairmont! I was scheduled to work the 2-10 shift and because I was coming back at 7 the next morning, the hotel let me stay for the night because there was NO way I was going to be able to drive back to work in the morning.

They gave me the cutest room, which also happened to be the farthest from the elevator. Ah well, the walk was good for me.

Having fun with PJ’s that my mom gave me for Christmas.

These products from Miller Harris smelled yummy. But I am partial to citrus smells. ;-)

My morning shift was scheduled from 7a to 3p but the evening concierge called out because of the weather. I was on the desk till about 6:30 and luckily when I left, the roads were better. Definitely not GREAT, but they were better. The highway just outside of Boston was fine but the closer I got to 95, the worse it got. I just took it slow and I was able to get home with no problem. It was also nice to pull into the lot at the apartment and be the only car not covered in snow (thank you parking garage!).

I was really happy to see David, too because with our schedules, we kept missing each other. We took a little nap before he went to work.

For dinner I reheated some leftovers into a delicious “soup.” It contained low sodium vegetable broth (that I had cooked the chicken in.), quinoa, kidney beans, broccoli and carrots. I added some pepper for flavor and it was really delicious and flavorful. And it definitely warmed me up.

I enjoyed with a side of British muffin topped with Teddie peanut butter and honey.

And of course, right now, I’m watching my late night TBS shows, Conan and George Lopez. And I just booked our trip to…

LAS VEGAS! David and I are leaving in a few weeks for 5 days as a vacation before he leaves. A few years ago, I had the pleasure of making the acquaintance of Gary Loveman who is the President of Harrah’s Entertainment and after e-mailing him (a shot in the dark!) he offered us a comp room at the Paris hotel! Score! We’ll probably stay on the strip for the first 2 days and then take day trips to National Parks and the Hoover Dam. I’m so excited!

Are you a fan of Las Vegas? Anything that’s a MUST see?

Right now I have to break away from the TV because I still have to put together my outfit for my company’s holiday party tomorrow! Night!

10 Responses to “Testing the Product”

  1. movesnmunchies Says:

    ahhh Las Vegas?! that is awesome- never been, but want to!… figs are great it oatmeal.. fresh figs are awesome too! such a dif taste!

  2. Brittney Says:

    Ooooh, cool! I’ve never been to Vegas either. My husband had had overnights there and actually thought it was nicer/better than he thought it would be. I’d love to go someday. Have a great time! Also, your hotel looks so cool :)

  3. Brit Says:

    I’m curious about Vegas too! Yesterday we bought plane tickets there for my first “adult” trip to Vegas. My parents took me there a long time ago during a trip to the Grand Canyon, but Vegas at age 10 is probably way different than now.

  4. Errign Says:

    How much snow did Boston end up with? In Northern NH, we got about 12-14 inches – it was a little crazy yesterday!

    Have fun in Vegas :)

  5. Michelle Says:

    I think it is great that your work was so nice and gave you a room – your safety is definitely important! After I settled an intense case that took over three years, Bret and I booked an impromptu trip to Vegas. I blogged a lot about it so you should definitely check it out on some food recommendations. My favorite place was off strip for what is known as the best Thai restaurant in the country – Lotus of Siam!

    • Alaina Says:

      Yum, I love Thai! I’ll try and check that place out! Thank you! I did go to Vegas in 2007, but I’m hoping to see a lot more than what I did back then. I did like Batista’s Hole in the Wall; cheap Italian food! :-P

  6. Ritter Says:

    Vegas is awesome!!! You will have a blast! I am heading there the first week in June. My favorite things about Vegas are the food and the shopping :)
    Your food pics are great! the hotel pics are adorable as well!

  7. MelissaNibbles Says:

    That’s great that your work hooked you up like that.
    I’ve never been to Vegas. I don’t think I could handle it. Looking forward to your recap!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

