2015 BAA 10K

This past Sunday I ran the 5th annual B.A.A. 10K in Boston. This was also my 5th time running and despite the fact that it was one of my slower times, it was one of the most enjoyable. The day certainly didn’t start that way since it poured and poured. It was buckets out there. The walk from the hotel to the start was mostly steady ran and just before we got to the Common, it was pouring buckets. Did I mention it was raining? My parents were on the fence about running but I rationalized that I was already wet, and I paid a lot of money for this race. I wasn’t about to let my 5th race be in jeopardy because of some rain.

Did I mention it was pouring?

You know when it wasn’t raining though? While we were running. After about a mile or so, my body felt normal because the rain made it feel like I had been sweating. I had some road blocks at the beginning: my shoe came untied 100 yards in to the run and at about a half mile I had to use the port-o-potty. After that though my pace was fairly consistent. I slowed down at a few of the water stops but I powered through the hills up Commonwealth Avenue and back down again. This was the first BAA race that I actually had gas in the tank after the 4 mile marker.

 2015

Stats
Time: 1:06:09
Pace: 10:40
Division: 412 / 603
Gender: 2291 / 3235
Overall: 4695 / 5960

The only thing I can’t seem to wrap my head around is how well I ran that last 5 miles of mine (9:05 pace) in training and how I couldn’t manage to pull that off at this race. I felt great the whole time and was even picking up the pace towards the end. Makes me wonder if I miscalculated my 5 miles or maybe the rain slowed me down?

Either way, despite the fact that I was happy with the race, a small part of me is still grasping for that PR. I’m starting to incorporate shorter, faster runs in to my training. Just this morning I ran 2 miles at an 8:52 pace! My next 10K is the Tufts race in October and we shall see what I can accomplish! I keep saying that time and time again but I truly want to master my fuel and my training.

2 thoughts on “2015 BAA 10K”

  1. I had a similar problem while running my first Trail 13k! In the race I ran a 10 minute pace… which was so much slower than my training 😦 But it sure gives you the motivation to train harder and come back stronger! Can’t wait to hear the improvements you will make in your October race!

Leave a Reply

