2015 Pell Bridge Run

Almost 2 weeks later and I just realized that I never recapped my most recent race!

For the 5th year in a row (along with my dad and the 5th year of the race!) my parents and I made the trek down to Newport, RI to run over the beautiful Clairborne Pell Bridge.

This year we stayed at the Homewood Suites in Middletown, which was just a few miles from the shuttle pick up location. The hotel was great, and it had all the amenities that we needed for our stay, including a buffet breakfast in the morning! For dinner that night, we went to the White Horse Tavern (after reading a glowing review by William!), and we had a wonderful time. I had the ham and lentil soup to start, along with an amazing peanut butter stout(!) and the duck with beet couscous for an entrée. Everything was delicious and would certainly return!

Our alarm went off at 5:15AM and we got ourselves ready to make it to the shuttles. Because we registered early, we were on the later shuttle. And being that Newport doesn’t have too many public lots, we left a little early to make sure we got a spot on a side street. Thankfully we found one easily and were at the shuttles well before our 6:30 departure.

The only thing I don’t really like about this race is that they shuttle everyone over so early and then we have to wait about 45 minutes before we start. Thankfully the weather has been tolerable each year. This year there were more clouds and wind, but the race was still an enjoyable one.

IMG_1874

This was the only picture I took! I was trying to get the bridge behind me but there was no way I was going to stop to do so. The first half was slow and steady mentality. Since I’ve done this race before I saw no need to stop at the top and take pictures. And I made sure to have enough energy to coast down the other side. I was determined to get sub 10 minute miles, and I’m happy to say I succeeded!

Stats
Time: 38:39
Pace: 9:54
Division (F): 427/1856
Division (F 30-34): 65/215
Overall: 880/2829

Another successful race in the books! As of right now, I have no other races planned or signed up for. We shall see what 2016 brings! 🙂

2 thoughts on “2015 Pell Bridge Run”

  1. Congrats on a great race! Being shuttled to the start of the race very early is annoying, I agree! But it does give you some time to get settled and ready before the start. Happy running!

Leave a Reply

