Spirit of the Holidays: Day 4

Happy National Cookie Day! How wonderful that a holiday such as this lands during the time of the Christmas season. Once I found out, I knew immediately that I was going to bake cookies as part of my getting-into-the-spirit.

I decided on something simple, yet festive, so I Googled “peppermint chocolate chip cookies” and stumbled upon this recipe: Peppermint Chocolate Chip Cookies from Add a Pinch.

A few changes I made: 1) I used butter flavored shortening instead of butter 2) I only used milk chocolate chips and added 1/2 tsp. of peppermint extract and 3) baked at 375* for 10 minutes.

The batter was crumbly, and you would have to roll them by hand in order for them to stay together. And after baking for 10 minutes, they may still look a bit undercooked but I can assure you, they are done. Do not over-bake!

cookies

They came out oh so good, and my coworkers loved them!

Did you celebrate National Cookie Day?

One thought on “Spirit of the Holidays: Day 4”

Leave a Reply

