An Exhausting (Yet Fun) Weekend

So, yeah, I completely fell off the “Seasons of the Holiday” bandwagon. I’m still enjoying wrapping presents and listening to Christmas music, but I haven’t really put a whole lot of thought into what I do each day. Ah well. 🙂

I am so completely sore, and full, after the weekend David and I had. It was go, go this weekend to get the insulation blown into the attic of the garage. I ended up having to move 165 25-pound bags from the garage (where it was being stored) to the truck where our neighbor was manning the hopper. David was in the attic, using the hose to loose fill the space with 3 feet of insulation. Here’s a photo of me in front, for reference:

insulation

That’s three feet behind me and only 1/4 of the attic was filled. With our neighbor’s help, we were able to get it done in about 3 and a half hours. In the end, I carried a (literal) ton of insulation. Actually, twice that amount. Needless to say, my shoulders still hurt today. At the end of the day, we had quite a beverage selection to choose from to enjoy.

gifts

Just getting to help people is the perk of my job, but I’d be lying if I said Christmas does get me a bit excited. That’s the time of year that vendors will come around and gift the concierge with delicious treats and bottles of wine and champagne. David and I tasted the whiskey and both agreed that it would be best as part of a mixed drink. We ended up with a ginger beer and whiskey concoction. It was perfect. We enjoyed that alongside rotisserie chicken and Ruffles potato chips, because we’re classy like that. 😉 Hey, we deserved it after our long day!

Thankfully Sunday was more laid back, but we still had work to do. Our goal was to tape the seams of the sheathing on the side of the garage. I had to climb up and down ladders and move them in order to get all the spots. I use my shins to balance myself on the ladder so they’re pretty sore today too. And I have bruises in places that I didn’t even think I hit. Sore central indeed!

Our work day was shortened though because we went to my parents to celebrate Christmas. We exchanged presents and enjoyed a delicious roast dinner with mashed potatoes, veggies, and a lemon blueberry pound cake for dessert. The highlight of my evening was getting this!

best gift

It had been on my Amazon Wish List since 2012, and my parents decided it was time for me to get it! I can’t wait to test it out at Christmas and my cousin’s baby shower this weekend.

And here it is, Monday; another work day. I’m working tonight, tomorrow and Wednesday, and then I’m off for the holiday weekend!

Hope you all have enjoyed a wonderful holiday thus far! What has been your highlight?

One thought on “An Exhausting (Yet Fun) Weekend”

Leave a Reply

