Holiday Celebrations & Welcome, 2016!

Happy New Year everyone!! I’m sure it’s no surprise that I haven’t blogged that much over the past few weeks (or months even!). Work has been surprisingly busy, even during the holiday season. Although our occupancy isn’t very high, there have been a lot of transient guests who have a lot of questions for the concierge. Always happy to help though! And it helps that the guests have been pretty great as well.

So where have we left off? In terms of the garage build, here’s the latest:

Driving In

We can finally park inside! The garage doors have been measured and ordered. There are just a few things that David and I have to complete before they can be installed. But we’re finally out of the elements for the winter! Yah for no more shoveling off snow! 🙂

I recapped Christmas with my parents, and then David and I had a wonderful celebration with my in-laws.

We enjoyed mimosas, cinnamon buns and my overnight French toast bake.

And of course, there were presents! I received Cards Against Humanity, Seth MacFarlane’s jazz CD, Adele 25, Straight No Chaser’s Christmas album, coconut pancake mix, compression shorts and socks, and a gift card for DSW for some new boots. Overall, another wonderful celebration with family.

Ah, I almost forgot the night before! To celebrate their 50th anniversary, the Sheraton offered each employee a chance to stay in the hotel for a complimentary night. We chose Christmas Eve, and the hotel gave us a really nice junior suite! And of course, I was having fun with my new camera.

Now back to Christmas! After a lovely afternoon at the in-laws, David and I headed up to Bangor for my cousin’s baby shower. We stayed at the Four Points by the airport and it was the perfect accommodations. The staff was really nice and the rooms were extremely well stocked and comfortable! And despite being right at the airport, the noise was very minimal.

We had a lovely time celebrating Angie…and doing the annual puzzle!

We left Saturday night and spent all of Sunday working on the garage.

The following weekend was just as exciting as well! I worked the whole week, and on Saturday my brother in law and I headed into Boston for the Celtics game. But we weren’t watching it in just any ol’ way. We had court-side seats baby! They were gifted from the most generous owner of Strega restaurant. (Side note: If you’re ever in Boston, you must try Strega Waterfront! Such a great restaurant run by a great group of people.)

Even though the Celtics lost to the Brooklyn Nets (100-97) it was still such an exciting game. I’m not the biggest basketball fan (I’m all about the hockey!) but even my heart was racing near the end of it. In addition to the seats, we had admission to the Putnam Club for food and drinks; the buffet was delicious, and the service was very friendly. 🙂

Overall, quite a busy few weeks for myself! Things should start quieting down, even though work may remain steady. There’s always birthdays to celebrate and families to gather with, so I know I won’t be bored for long. 🙂

And in terms of racing for the year? Still nothing scheduled yet, but I may sign up if my schedule permits. I still want to run the BAA 10K however! That’s always a favorite.

How were your celebrations? Excited for 2016?!

Leave a Reply

