Easy Chicken Enchiladas

Except without the enchilada sauce. So I guess a chicken/cheese/salsa wrap thingy? Either way, it was quick, easy, and delicious.

When I graduated college, my cousins bought me a recipe book called “Your Shirt is Not an Oven Mitt.” It’s filled with easy recipes containing ingredients that you most likely already have in your kitchen. I always seem to gravitate towards this dish though because if there’s nothing more that David and I enjoy, it’s anything with cheese and salsa. 🙂

Please excuse the dark pictures; I’m still getting the hang of my new camera. Plus light at 7:45PM isn’t always as optimal.

Yah for presentation! 😛

All you need to do is mix your chicken (I used grilled chicken strips from Trader Joe’s but rotisserie chicken is definitely the way to go!) in a microwavable dish with about a cup of salsa and half a cup of shredded Mexican cheese. Heat the dish for about a minute on HIGH in the microwave or 5 minutes on the stove top. Prep the oven to 350* and line a baking dish with a thin layer of salsa. Divide the chicken into flour tortillas (I used whole wheat) and place in the dish with the seams facing down. Top with additional cheese and bake for 20 minutes!

What I really like about this particular dish is how much you can modify it. I’ve added enchilada sauce, sauteed onions and peppers, and even used corn tortillas (although sometimes they break too easily) as a way to mix things up. Or instead of chicken, you can use flavored tofu or ground beef. And the leftovers will be great for David when I have to work the evening shift at the hotel.

What’s your favorite quick and/or go-to recipe?

Leave a Reply

