I Baked Doughnuts!

And then used my fancy new camera to take some pictures. Well, as fancy as I can get them since I’m still getting used to all of the features. 

Last Christmas my parents bought me a doughnut pan because, of all the baking I do, I haven’t really tackled doughnuts. I wanted to change that, and the family party this past weekend was a perfect occasion to bake something up.

IMG_0105

The recipe was from a Family Circle magazine from 2014. The recipe called for adding a topping but I omitted it from my batch.

Cinnamon Baked Doughnuts
Family Circle Magazine March 2014
Makes: 12 servings (My pan was small so I ended up with about twice that amount)
Prep: 15 minutes
Bake at 350* for 17 minutes

Ingredients
2 cups all purpose flour
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1 extra-large egg, lightly beaten
1 1/4 cups whole milk (I used almond milk)
2 tbsp unsalted butter, melted
2 tsp pure vanilla extract

Topping (if you would like to add it)
8 tbsp (1 stick) unsalted butter
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 tsp cinnamon

Directions
1) Heat oven to 350*. Spray 2 doughnut pans well with baking spray. Into a large bowl, sift together flour, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt. In a small bowl, whisk together egg, milk, melted butter and vanilla. Stir wet mixture into dry ingredients until just combined.
2) Spoon batter into prepared baking pans, filling each one a little more than three-quarters full. Bake for 17 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean. Allow to cool for 5 minutes, then tap doughnuts out onto a sheet pan.
3) Topping: Melt butter in an 8-inch saute pan. Combine sugar and cinnamon in a small bowl. Dip each doughnut first in butter and then in cinnamon sugar, either on one side or both sides.

IMG_0107

Again, the texture is certainly not like the fried ones you’d get at Dunks or a local doughnut shop, but they are tasty nonetheless. 😛

Leave a Reply

