Getting Out of My Comfort Zone with Barre & Soul

Thank you to everyone who entered the giveaway for the Lightlife coupons! Congratulations to David, Janice and Annamarie on winning! I’ve e-mailed them all. πŸ™‚

When I started exercising, almost 10 years ago, I always gravitated towards running. I liked that it was something you could do on your own, just getting lost in your thoughts or your music. Every once in a while I would run with someone, but usually I was alone.

When it came to exercise classes, I always felt intimidated. I took a few yoga classes but ended up just comparing myself to those that were stretching and keeping the poses better than I was. It wasn’t something that I thoroughly enjoyed. But I wanted to change that. Running is still awesome, but I wanted to try something out of my comfort zone that would also challenge me. Enter: barre.

My friend Meghan graciously invited me to try out Barre & Soul in Harvard Square for either a barre or yoga class. Having done the latter before, I decided on the former. I was vaguely familiar with how the class works, and I was intrigued to try something that was a great workout without being too strenuous.

The studio itself is bright and beautiful, with the warm wood floors and white ceiling and walls. The women working the desk were also extremely friendly and accommodating. I told them it was my first time there, and they gave me a quick tour of the layout (2 workout rooms, 2 restrooms, and a bag area) before explaining what to grab for the class (mat, 2 sets of weights, ball, strap, and blocks).

It started promptly at noon (offered on Wednesday and Friday), and the class had about 12 people in attendance. It was a combination of yoga, ballet, ab exercises, weights, and stretching. My legs were like jello at the end but I ended up having such a great workout. It felt challenging, without working up a sweat, and it was actually a relief to see that others were having to take breaks during some of the exercises too. That’s one thing that I was afraid of when it came to group classes: that I would be the only one struggling. I actually surprised myself on how well I held up. I think the workouts at home have been helping out!

And on a side note: 6 pounds lost since tracking my food at MyFitnessPal! I haven’t cut anything out; I’ve just been more conscious of my portion sizes. I feel great. πŸ™‚

IMG_1939

The instructor was great, making sure that everyone’s form was correct and that we were doing OK throughout the workout. I even got to meet Andrea, the owner (standing by the desk in the above picture) and she seemed so passionate about the studio and the classes they offer.

The location is perfect, on JFK Street in Harvard Square, overlooking Winthrop Square. It’s on the second floor of the Garage, where you can grab a coffee or lunch after your workout. They provide different pricing options, if you would like to do a combination of barre & yoga or yoga only. They are also offering an introductory rate of $69 for your first month of both classes; $30 for just yoga. All pricing information can be found here. They also provide drop-in prices, which I’m sure I will take advantage of from time to time!

This class was complimentary, but all opinions are my own.

What’s your favorite way to work out?

One thought on “Getting Out of My Comfort Zone with Barre & Soul”

Leave a Reply

