Cranberry Coconut Cookies

Originally posted in March 2014

Today was a cold and rainy day, and an activity I love to do while it’s raining outside is drink wine bake. Since I had just purchased a massive bag of Ocean Spray Craisins from BJ’s, I decided to incorporate those into my baked goods. I perused online and stumbled upon a recipe for Cranberry Coconut cookies. And thankfully I had all the ingredients on hand.

2014-03-31 11.20.50

I gathered the ingredients together and got to baking. The afternoon was further enjoyed by watching a few episodes of the Golden Girls. I have seen every single episode but watching them again leaves me in stitches. Seriously, one of the best shows ever.

2014-03-31 16.15.41

2014-03-31 16.16.59-1

For this batch of cookies, I decided to get more artistic with my photographs. Well, more artistic than what I’d been in the past. Regardless of not having any sun, I still used the daylight, our prime southern exposure, and my brand new iPhone to capture some photos that I am certainly proud of. I just had to incorporate the first picture, since I tried to take an aerial shot without looking at the screen. It really is amazing what a little natural light can do for some cookies. Smile

Cranberry Coconut Cookies
Recipe from Food.com

Prep Time: 15 minutes
Cook Time: 15 minutes
Yield: 24 cookies

Ingredients
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup sugar
1/3 cup brown sugar, packed
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup shredded coconut
1/2 cup walnuts
1 1/2 cups dried cranberries

Directions
Combine flour, baking powder and cinnamon, set aside.
Cream butter and sugars until light and fluffy.
Beat in egg and vanilla.
Gradually beat in flour mixture.
Stir in coconut, nuts and cranberries.
Drop by the tablespoonful 2 inches apart on a greased sheet.
Bake at 350 for 12-15 minutes until golden.

Cool 5 minutes before removing from cookie sheet.

The recipe was extremely easy and the end result was a delicious, slightly sweet, tart, and coconutty cookie. I ended up bring a few over to Michelle, while she was doing a demonstration at the William’s Sonoma in Natick. They got the thumbs up from her! And I gave a BIG thumbs up to her Spinach & Chickpea Coconut Curry tarts that she had made for the occasion. I snacked on one (or maybe two?) while I was there and took two more home to enjoy. They were amazing.

Looks like coconut was the theme of the day. Maybe I’m dreaming of warmer days and tropical-style foods? Probably. Winking smile

Are you looking forward to this winter being over? Tomorrow is April!

3 thoughts on “Cranberry Coconut Cookies”

  1. I’ve found that natural light really is the key to great pictures. Nice job! Love cranberry cookies and the coconut in them sounds like a nice addition!

Leave a Reply

