2016 BAA 5K

First off: Happy Marathon Monday!! It looks like a beautiful day for the runners and spectators. Good luck to everyone running!

Marathon 2

This past Saturday I ran the 8th annual BAA 5K. It was my first year running, and it ended up being such an amazing race.

4

Dad and I at the Boston Common before the start.

The race had about 10,000 entrants, so you can imagine the crazy crowds as we tried to line up. Dad and I were around the 9 minute line, although we could have done better getting closer to the front because we ended up behind some walkers.

It was a bit crowded at first but it started to open up after the first mile. I was also FAH-reezing and my finger tips on my right hand were white. My legs and feet were also a bit cold so I think that helped me run fast, since I couldn’t feel them. 😉

The best part of the race though is when we crossed over the marathon finish line just around the 2 mile mark.

5

It was at this point too that my dad caught up to me. He thought he had passed me at the beginning and was surprised to see how fast I was going! I was losing a bit of steam but kept him in sight just a few paces ahead of me. I did have enough in the tank to bolt across the finish line but unfortunately the chute was too narrow for me to really get my strides in.

Stats
Time: 27:38
Pace: 8:54
Gender (F): 1395/5033
Division (F 30-34): 236/785
Overall: 3411/8708

I had SUCH a wonderful time at this race. And it has definitely boosted my confidence with running at a faster pace. Even though I have no races on the calendar, I’m certainly going to continue my running about 2 to 3 times a week and see where my fitness can take me. I’m contemplating another half marathon, actually, but it’ll be a year or so before that happens. 😉

Was there a race you did that gave you that “I can fly” feeling?? 

Leave a Reply

